Wax Carving-Whales,Barn Owls, Lighthouse, Chicken

In the past week I have been sitting in my living-room and carving. It was rainy and windy (still is) which is the best excuse to not leave my cave, brew a pot of tea and get creative (doesn’t really look like it but it was gray and stormy).

I keep hearing from family and friends how hot it is back home, and I really miss the Israeli summer, and even the Australian summer. When I get back home it’s going to be winter again, so I’ll be going from one winter to another. A whole year of winters.DSC03629

I wanted to make several pendants or charms with animal images, but of course I got a bit distracted. Some of these made it, some didn’t.DSC03730

IMG_3792Today I finally finished the last one of four (I had so many in mind but these are the ones that turned out nice), so tomorrow I can take them to the casting house in Marrickville, along with the two earrings and the two shell pendantsΒ I have made out of my silicone molds (purple wax is the injection wax I use n the molds, the green one is the carving wax).

If you can’t tell there is a whale and its cub, a barn owl and its chook, a hen and her eggs, and a lighthouse (how random).

I think I will try to oxidize these pieces (never done it before) because I think the dark patina might bring out all the small details of the carvings.

DSC03738

Hopefully tomorrow will be nicer and maybe I’ll just walk back from the casting house. It’s a long walk and I need the exercise.

Peace.

2 thoughts on “Wax Carving-Whales,Barn Owls, Lighthouse, Chicken

Leave a Reply

