What I Love

Yesterday, when I was standing at a crosswalk near my house, I looked up at the sky and thought how brilliant the moon seemed in that clear, blue sky. I snapped a quick picture with my phone and smiled to myself, excited that tomorrow (today) I was going to the casting house. IMG_3896

I have been reading a lot on the Etsy forums about how important it was to diversify your store. The larger the selection of pieces, the more chances of people stumbling on your store. The other piece of advice I saw a lot was to do what you love and enjoy it. I know I love creating beautiful, intricate pieces of jewelry. I also know I need to diversify my store. So I decided to make three rings, in random sizes, and put them up in my store just to draw more attention and traffic.  I can’t really deal with sizing metal rings since I’m working in my apartment, so I doubt I can sell them However, I wanted to enjoy the process and create pieces that I would love.

The first ring I made was a “spiral ring”. It actually came out sort of delicate and even wearable (I’ll have to wait and see when it’s cast). It basically spirals from top to bottom, with one side having a higher spiral (top) and the other a lower spiral (bottom). This was the only ring that did not get the WTF look from my partner or the receptionist at the casting house.

Then came the “Chimera Ring”, which I was carving without any idea what I wanted it to be. And it sort of shows. It has something resembling an insects tail on one side, a scaly second side, and a weird bug in the middle. It’s hard to make out from these pictures but I’m sure it will be much clearer once it is cast and oxidized.

The last ring I made in a small men’s size. It has so many things going on since I really did not know where I was going with it, and just enjoyed the process. It has sort of a wild flower on one side, a tulip or rose on the other, and a rising sun on the top. And of course as if that wasn’t enough I added a couple of holes in its sides, with some triangles that I think will look cool once oxidized.

So after sitting at home and carving for so long, it was a pleasure going to the casting house today, even though it was freezing and windy.IMG_3897  I dropped in a couple of other pieces as well, one that is experimental and one which is sort of similar to the whale pendant I just sold (and miss already). I will devote another post for them if they turn out nice.

Last but not least, I finally sat a t my favorite cafe and worked on some other stuff I have been neglecting.IMG_3898

All in all, it was a good day.

Peace.

2 thoughts on “What I Love

Leave a Reply

