The Dragons Have Returned!

I have been hard at work, trying to carve as many wax models daily while trying to keep some kind of social media presence since that is the best way to get people over to my Etsy shop.

I am well aware that in a few more months I will have to start looking for a part-time job of some sort so I’m tenaciously enlarging my stock because I know I will not have so much freedom to create as I do now.

Of course in all this “productive phase” I have to digress since I have a very short attention span, and in this case my digression was creating the dragon series.

Back in Sydney I made a sleeping dragon pendant cradling its labradorite egg. It was the most expensive item I had in my shop at the time, and a few days before I left Sydney (actually on the day I was planning on putting the shop on holiday mode) someone purchased it.

In the back of my head I knew I wanted to make more dragon pieces, since I love dragons and the many different ways you can portray them. I also knew it would take a long time since they are so finely detailed and I told myself to wait until I get my life in order.

Of course that didn’t work and I just had to make these pieces. I just started sketching on some wax and playing around with some stones I had (3 labradorite, 1 sapphire, 1 garnet).

I knew I wanted to make a sea-dragon and a fairy-dragon as well as another sleeping dragon. The other two dragons I made were flying dragons because I wanted to try and carve their wings in different positions. I wasn’t sure if they were going to turn out to be brooches or pendants so just in case I carved a couple of bails that I could use in case I wanted to add it to one of the pieces.

Each model took a couple of days just to perfect, and it took a couple more days just to solder the pins, the bail, set the stones and polish and oxidize them.DSC07778

I just began listing the finished pieces in the shop, 4 brooches and 1 pendant. They are (again) the most expensive pieces in the shop and so far they have managed to garner some much needed attention so they are already serving some of their purpose.

Now I have to get back to reality and make some rings and stuff that people will actually buy 🙂

 

Peace

One thought on “The Dragons Have Returned!

Leave a Reply

